Bahrain updates COVID-19 travel list, allows residents from banned countries to return

Residents from “red list” countries can return to Bahrain as the country has added three more countries to the list.
In a statement carried by the Bahrain News Agency on Thursday, Bahrain’s Civil Aviation Affairs said that it has updated its “red list” and added Georgia, Ukraine and Malawi to it in line with directives issued by the Government Executive Committee in response to recommendations made by the National Medical Taskforce for Combatting the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

According the statement, the countries on the “red list” are Bangladesh, Dominican Republic, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Sri Lanka and Tunisia.

Passengers arriving from “red list” countries, including those who have transited through them in the preceding 14 days, are prohibited from entry, with the exception of citizens or residents of Bahrain, the country’s Civil Aviation Affairs said in the statement.

According to the statement, passengers who are eligible for entry must present a negative PCR test result, with a QR code, administered within 48 hours of their departure. Further testing is required upon arrival and on the 10th day of mandatory quarantine. Payment for testing may be made on arrival or through “BeAware Bahrain” coronavirus application.

Quarantine centers licensed by the National Health Regulatory Authority (NHRA) have been made available for passengers who do not have a permanent address in Bahrain. Those with a permanent address in Bahrain registered in their name or the name of an immediate family member may complete their 10-day mandatory quarantine at that residence. Passengers aged six and below are exempt from these requirements, the statement added.